13514559Rogue is the second book in the Exceptional Series by Jess Petosa

Read: April 2013

I rated it on Goodreads: 5 stars

Book Description:

Ally is finally outside the City walls, with her brother and her best friends.Luke is still inside the City walls, with no memory of the girl he once loved. Life in the Wilderness is dangerous, and they soon find out that they are not alone. Will Ally continue her journey to the Southern City, or will she risk it all to help the boy she loves?

My Review:

I was very excited when this book came out…I wanted to see what was going to happen to Ally and Luke now that Ally was outside the city and Arden had erased all of Luke’s memories. I didn’t mind that the book went back and forth between Ally and Luke as it gave us a little insight into how Luke was faring in the city. However, the story was more from Ally’s point of view than Luke’s.

I have to admit that I wasn’t thrilled by the introduction of Max into Ally’s orbit. I’m totally rooting for

Luke and Ally, but I enjoyed seeing Ally in Champaign. I think it was important for Ally and her friends to see a fully functioning settlement outside of the city. I have to say though I admit to not trusting Heath from the beginning, I knew he was up to something, but I didn’t expect it to be what it was.
As for Luke, I was happy that he was having shadows of Ally to remind him of something and glad we didn’t have to suffer through any time with Ruin his selection from ORC.

I’m not totally surprised that Aden was behind anything, he was power-hungry from the start and it only made sense that he had something to do with the Rogues.

I was happy for the mini-reunion we got between Luke and Ally, that is until Ruin ruined it. I was very sad to see Ally run from Luke without letting him explain. Though I was relieved when Pax admitted that Ruin was pregnant with his baby and not Luke’s.

Can’t wait till the third book to see if Luke and Ally reunite and what happens with Heath and Max.

