Uglies by Sco6586540tt Westerfeld it the first in the Uglies Series. (Recommended to me by Andi)

Read: May 2013

I rated it on Goodreads: 4 Stars

Book Description:

Tally Youngblood is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait for the operation that turns everyone from a repellent ugly into a stunningly attractive pretty and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to party. But new friend Shay would rather hoverboard to “the Smoke” and be free. Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world and it isn’t very pretty. The “Special Circumstances” authority Dr Cable offers Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. The choice Tally makes changes her world forever.

My Review:

This book was recommended to me by a friend…and I wasn’t sure what to make of it at first. It took me a while to finaly decide to start reading it. I have mixed feelings about this and am teetering between giving it 4 or 5 stars, it’s more like a 4.5 for me. I enjoyed the story of Tally and her world, loved her interaction with Shay, Croy, David and even the Special Circumstances pretties. Tally is definitely a strong female main character, and I like that about her.

The twists and turns of the story kept me interested, and I was shocked at how the book ended, it was a great set up for the next book. It will be intersting to watch the rest of Tally’s story play out and find out how David, Shay and the other smokies fit into it.

