6479322

Specials (Uglies 3) By Scott Westerfeld

Read: May 2013

I rated on Goodreads: 4 stars

Book Description:

Tally thought they were a rumor, but now she’s one of them. A Special. A superamped fighting machine, engineered to keep the uglies down and the pretties stupid.

But maybe being perfectly programmed with strength and focus isn’t better than anything she’s ever known. Tally still has memories of something else.

But it’s easy for her to tune that out–until she’s offered a chance to stamp out the rebels of the New Smoke permanently. It all comes down to one last choice: listen to that tiny, faint heartbeat, or carry out the mission she’s programmed to complete. Either way, Tally’s world will never be the same.

My Review: (Warning contains spoilers)

So I took a few days to really think about this review before writing it. This whole series was recommended to me by my friend Andi, and I usually love every book she recommends to me, and it’s not that I didn’t like this series. I liked it, will probably read it again at some point, the problem I had was that at times I had trouble knowing what was going on, and I felt that each change to Tally was really shocking and fast.  That being said on with my review.

In this book Tally is a special, she’s basically made up of non-human components that give her a harder edge than a normal pretty or even a normal special circumstance person. She’s joined up with Shay, who I have to say is not my favorite character; she’s a bit vain and a pain in the butt. The specials are looking for anyone to give them information on the smokies, who have now found a way to smuggle in the pills that David’s mother has created. The pills that Tally and Zane took.

David kidnaps one of the specials, and Shay and Tally decide to get him back. They use Zane, who isn’t quite right, to lead them to where the new smokies is. More of the Crim’s have decided to leave with Zane and help him on his journey. Things don’t really start to pick up till they get to the New Smokie camp, where Tachs, a special tries to inject Tally with something. Turns out it’s a cure and something they have already given Shay. This leads to Tally being captured and about to be operated on to become a pretty again without the special modifications, but Shay saves her in time to stop the surgery but not to stop Dr. Cable.

This leads Tally back to Prettyville, where she does stop Dr. Cable, but along the way loses who she thought she loved and ended up with the person she does love.

The ending was ok, but it was a little abrupt and I don’t plan to read the 4th book so for me the series ended with no knowledge of what happens to everyone a day or a month later.

