Title: Stay With Me17875132
Author: Elyssa Patrick
Genre: Adult Contemporary
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Stars: 5 of 5

Goodreads and Amazon.com Description:

With one look, I’m his . . .

With one touch, he’s mine . . .

With one kiss, it changes everything between us . . .

I’ve been famous since I can remember. Singing, acting, dancing—I’ve done it all. The tabloids cover my every move, but I don’t want that anymore. I want to be normal, whatever that is.

When I leave Hollywood for college in Vermont, I’m on my own for the first time in my life. This is my chance to figure out who I am and what I want in life.

But it’s a lot harder than I expected. I can’t escape my image. Classes are difficult, and I’m struggling. And then there’s Caleb Fox.

Sexy, intriguing Caleb Fox.

Caleb is the one man who doesn’t want to use me. He breaks down my walls. He challenges me. He wants me. And I just don’t know if I can give him the same—or if he’ll stick around when he finds out my shameful secret that the tabloids haven’t managed to uncover.

Dating him is risky enough, but loving him could break me.

My Review:

I wasn’t 100% what to expect when I started reading this, but from the synopsis I was intrigued. Instead of being one of those I’m famous and I use it to get what I want, this was the story about a girl who would rather be unknown and allowed to live the life she wants, instead of the life her mother wants for her.

Hailey moves to Vermont to go to college and try and figure out who she is aside from the Singer/Actor and Dancer that the world knows her as. She started a life of fame early on when she became the next Gerber Baby, but know Hailey wants to know what she wants out of life, not what her mother does.  At a party she sees the intriguing Caleb as she escapes the throngs of people that know who she is, for just a quiet moment to herself.

This story is not just about a famous person changing her life; it’s also about finding love with someone who doesn’t want anything from you but to love them back. Caleb doesn’t care about Hailey’s fame; he wants her for who she is for him, not what he could get from being with her. This is something that is new for Hailey as well. Of course in the middle of all this you have Hailey’s mother who doesn’t want her claim to fame to end, so she starts selling lies about Hailey, forcing Hailey to admit things to Caleb she otherwise might not have done.

Throughout this story we also get to see a friendship develop between Hailey and Daphne, who happens to be Caleb’s sister, but also treats her like a regular person, not someone famous. I enjoyed their growing friendship and the fact that the author portrayed Hailey as someone lost, trying to find her way and escape a life she may not have truly wanted, endeared this character to me throughout the story.

A fabulous debut novel for Elyssa Patrick, and I can’t wait to see where she takes us next.

ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

