Title: Allegiant (Divergent #3)17406183
Author: Veronica Roth
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Stars: 5 of 5

Goodreads and Amazon Description:

What if your whole world was a lie?
What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything?
What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

My Review:

So it has taken me a while to come to grips with the book and be able to write a review. I wanted to write it while it was fresh in my mind, but that did not work out so well for me. So now I am finally ready to deal with my feelings about this book. I have to say that I LOVED the entire series. Not only was it well written, but it was truly like no other series in the dystopian world I had ever read before. I owe a big thank you to Andi for pulling me into the world of Tris and Four.

I had no other expectations going into reading Allegiant other than wanting to know how it all worked out for Tris, Four and their band of friends. I tried so very hard to be spoiler free on this book. I wanted to experience the entire book myself and not have pre-set feelings on how it ended. It did not work; the end was spoiled for me in an article I read about the Divergent Movie. To say I was upset would be an understatement. Knowing how the book ended did nothing for me but make me want to not finish the book, because if I did not finish, it was not true.

But, I finished. I broke down and made myself, and can I just say that Veronica Roth took a daring step and it paid off. After reading the entire book, I understood why she did what she did. Was I happy about it, NO, but I understood it. Do I wish it had ended differently, yes and no. Yes for obvious reasons to anyone who has read the book, but no because I think it was an interesting way to end the series, something I have never seen done before. This was the first time reading a book I was unhappy with an ending for reasons other than it just ended with no closure. This book had that closure, but it was sad all the same.

The rest of the book, the beginning and middle, were just as fantastic as the other two books in the series. I have to say that I was surprised to learn the reasons behind the factions, and that what was beyond the fence was not as much of a wasteland as I feared it would be. I liked the fact that Tris and her group had a few experiences that they would have never had inside the fence.

I really enjoyed watching Tris and Four work their way back towards each other, both inside the fence and outside. It was great to read the emotions of how they felt when certain events happened that affected their group.

I think one of the best parts for me was Tris learning more about who her mother was and how it affected her life, especially since the woman on the video was her grandmother. Learning about her family history and her mother, as well as why the factions came about, made it easier for Tris to make some of the decisions that she did.

All in all I have to say that Ms. Roth did a wonderful job wrapping up an adventurous story, and while I am sad to see Tris and Four go…..I know I at least still have the movie.

