8684868

 

Title: Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3) |Goodreads|
Author: Suzanne Collins|GoodreadsWebsite |
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: August 24, 2010 |Purchase Amazon|
Format: Ebook
Source: Kindle

Synopsis:

My name is Katniss Everdeen.
Why am I not dead?
I should be dead.

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans–except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay–no matter what the personal cost.

My Review:

I read this book as the first of my 12 books for the Re-Read Challenge hosted by hosted by Belle of the Literati and So Obsessed With.  Here is my review based on the questions provided for us:

WHEN I First Read 

When I first read Mockingjay, I was not really sure that I wanted to know how it all ended for Katniss, Peeta, Gale and the rest. I did not want to know who Katniss ended up with, or what happened to Katniss as the “champion” for District 13.

WHAT I Remember 

I actually remember a lot that had happened from the first part of the book, not sure if it was because I had just seen the movie, or if I just remembered it. I have to say that I was surprised by what I did not remember happening. There were a few character deaths that I was like, Oh yeah I forgot that happened to them. But I did remember what happens to Snow, Coin, Haymitch, Gale, and Peeta and of course Katniss.

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read 

Part of me wanted to re-read because I wanted to see how similar it was to the movie, and was surprised at how well they did keeping the movie in line with the book. Another reason was I wanted to refresh my memory about what happened in the second part of the book. There were so many things that happen that I had already forgotten about.

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading

I would say that my opinon about the story changed a bit after re-reading it. I felt a little more attached to the characters then I had when I read it the first time. I think part was due to the movie, and part because I read it with a different frame of mind. I read it with more of a goal of preparing myself for the end of the movie series. I have to say that I was happy with the ending of the book. The author wrapped it up nicely without answering major questions.

WOULD I Re-Read Again

Honestly, I am not sure if I would re-read this again. I think that maybe in a few years after all the hype of the movies has died down I might take a trip down the Hunger Game lanes and re-read all three books. I do not think that as of right now I have any plans to re-read this or the other two anytime soon.

 

My Rating 

5star

