11235712
Title: Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles 1) |Goodreads|
Author: Marissa Meyer|GoodreadsWebsite |
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publication Date: January 3, 2012 |Purchase Amazon|
Format: Ebook
Source: Kindle

Synopsis:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

mythoughts

I read this book as the second of my 12 books for the Re-Read Challenge hosted by hosted by Belle of the Literati and So Obsessed With.  Here is my review based on the questions provided for us:

WHEN I First Read 

When I first read Cinder, I was excited to see a different take on the Cinderella story. I remember thinking how interesting it was going to be with Cinder being a Cyborg and a world that was a little Dystopian and a little bit in chaos with the threat from the people living on the Moon.

WHAT I Remember 

I actually remembered more of what happened then I thought I would since it had been over a year since I read it. I remembered certain things happening to both Cinder and Kai, and got excited as I got to those parts of the story.

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read 

The reason I decided to re-read Cinder was to be able to read Scarlet and Cress and know what was going on. While I realize that all three books are different in main character stories, I still wanted to re-visit Cinder and remember her story before I moved on.

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading

After re-reading I still like this book as much as I did the first time. I think the way that Marissa Meyer changed the story to fit a different world, while keeping some parts of the Cinderella story the same, made this story interesting from start to finish.  Honestly, I think I like this book more now that I’ve re-read it then I did the first time. In fact I’m pretty sure that I hate Queen Levana more after this then I did before, and it really makes me want to read Fairest NOW instead of waiting to read after I read Scarlet and Cress.

I have to say that the twists at the end of the book was one I did not see coming the first time I read it, but after re-reading I can now see some of the signs that would have let the reader believe this, and maybe figure it out for themselves sooner. I think this re-read got me even more excited for Scarlet and Cress’ stories as well.

WOULD I Re-Read Again

Absolutely. I would 100% read this again. Maybe not anytime soon, but after I finish Scarlet and Cress, there is a chance I could re-read before Winter comes out, but definitely again in the future.

My Rating 

5star

