22456905 (1)

Title: Twist |Goodreads|
Author:  Karen Akins|Goodreads| Website |
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication Date: April 7, 2015
Format: eBook

Received ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

|Amazon| Description:

Bree Bennis finally has it all-a non-comatose mother, an uber-hot (albeit anachronistic) boyfriend named Finn, and a newfound mission to protect the timeline from those who would skew it for their own gain. But when she leans over one day to smooch said boyfriend, her lips meet those of her arch-nemesis Wyck instead. The timeline has been altered, and Bree is caught in the crosshairs. But when she goes back to repair the damage, she is stopped by none other than her Future Self, who delivers an urgent message: Someone is kidnapping Shifters from the distant past. It’s up to Bree to stop them. But first, she has to figure out who…and why.

To follow the trail of chronocrumbs, Bree reluctantly accepts her new undercover gig as Wyck’s girlfriend. Everything goes spiffy until Finn shows up in the 23rd century on the eager arm of a gorgeous fellow Shifter. Blark. Even as Bree struggles with jealousy, she battles the nagging dread that Finn might be better off with someone less chronologically complicated. Her worst fear is confirmed when Finn becomes the kidnapper’s next victim. As Bree zeroes in on the culprit, they unravel her life one timeline-change at a time. She realizes that she alone has the power to save herself and everyone she loves. But to do that, she may lose Finn forever.

mythoughts

PEGAMOO, that’s right I said PEGAMOO. I still can’t get over the thought of a flying mini cow. I have thought about this since I read the book in January. If this is the pet of the future, sign me up for two please.

pegamoo2

Now on to the serious stuff:

Twist is the sequel to Karen Akins amazing book Loop, and continues the story of Bree and Finn in the world of time travelers.  In this sequel to Loop, Bree is living in a different world, her mother is awake, and she has the ability to time travel without alerting the school she is attending to her activity, but all that changes when someone messes with the timeline causing Bree’s whole world to change. She is suddenly not with Finn anymore, she is with Wyck, the boy who used to be her friend, till he changes suddenly, and then she has to deal with Finn coming back to the 23rd century as the boyfriend of someone who is not her.

What I really liked about this book:

First let me say that I LOVE THIS BOOK, absolutely LOVE this book, and I was SUPER excited to find out I got approved for an advanced readers copy, it totally made my day.

This is a book that I could totally get into, especially since it started where Loop left off, and Loop was my first foray into Time Traveling. While there was a little time difference between where Loop ended and Twist started, we were still following the same story. I also LOVE Bree, she is a strong lead character who knows what she needs to do, and takes action to accomplish her goals, even if they have an outcome she does not want. Having the responsibility of the Reverter, and the need to stop things from changing the timeline keeps Bree very busy, as well as maintain her relationship with Finn over several centuries.

One of the other things I loved about this book was the mystery involved around the switch from being Finn’s boyfriend to suddenly being in a relationship with her enemy.  This book definitely lives up to its title with the twists and turns we take.

The Story:

I was highly anticipating reading this book because I wanted to see what happened to Bree and Finn, but the story itself really drew me in. Bree’s future self shows up to explain to her present self that she needs to stay with Wyck to stop the changes to her timeline and figure out what ICE is up to. With Wyck now working for ICE, it allows Bree to find a way into areas that will help her figure out what is going on with the information her future self gave her, the information she needs to find out who is kidnapping Shifters.

Bree knows she has to do whatever is necessary to save these shifters; it causes Bree to have to think about things that she may not have otherwise. She even thinks about if Finn is better off without her, better off with someone who doesn’t have the responsibility she does.  I have to admit there were a lot of twists in their relationship I never saw coming, and while I was upset about the whole Finn and Bree with someone else, I knew that the author had a plan and I hung on to find out exactly what it was.

The end:

I will admit that I did not want this book to end, mainly because I was not ready to let go of Bree and Finn, but I did like the way that Karen Akins ended the book.  It was a great way to solve the mystery and show us where Bree and Finn ended up.

5stars

