12294652Title: My Life Next Door | Goodreads |
Author:  Huntley Fitzpatrick | Goodreads | Website |
Publisher:Speak; Re-Print Edition(Penguin Group)
Publication Date: June 14, 2012
Genre: Young Adult,  Contemporary
Format: Paperback | Amazon | Barnes & Nobles |

Synopsis: The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

whatlike

First, I want to say a big HUGE THANK YOU to my OTSPSecretSister for gifting me this book for my birthday. This was a book I wanted to read for a while, but never got around to it, but I’m glad that I finally decided to read it. I was mesmerized by the story from the start.

thestory

This is your typical boy meets girl and they fall in love,  boy from the “wrong” family, however, it is completely different than almost any other boy meets girl book I’ve ever read.

10 years ago Jase Garrett and his huge family move in next to Samantha Reed, her sister and their very pretentious trust fund mother, who does nothing but complain about the noise and messy yard of their new neighbors.  Sam, who is the youngest Reed daughter is starting the summer between her Junior and senior year, works two jobs and spends her nights outside of her bedroom window watching the Garret’s and has for a while.  Samantha is left up to her own devices while her sister goes to the Hampton’s with her boyfriend, and her mother is working on her Senatorial re-election campaign and having a fling with a much younger man, who basically invades their lives.

One night, while sitting outside her window, Jase Garrett climbs up the trellis and invades Samantha’s space, thus leading them to a tentative friendship that leads into more.  For the first time Sam is getting an inside look into the lives of the Garrett’s as she grows closer to Jase and the rest of his family.

I have to say that I love Jase’s younger brother Georgie. He is adorable and I just wanted to hug him time and time again during this story.

Okay, back to the review, Sam’s whole world is changing as she becomes more and more integrated with Jase and his family, becoming a go to babysitter, and falling in love with Jase. Her mother has no idea that Sam is with Jase, or even hanging out with the Garrett’s, as she is too wrapped up in her campaign and Clay, her new political advisor, who is slowly moving into the Reed household and gives creepy vibes to Sam. I have to say that there were several times during this story that I wanted to strangle Clay. I never trusted him from first moment he showed up in the story till he was finally gone.

I really liked all of Jase’s family, but Sam’s mother and sister grated my nerves throughout the entire story, especially the way they both kind of left Sam on her own, or forced her to attend things for the good of her mother’s campaign.

Then one night changes the entire dynamic of both Sam and Jase’s entire world. I knew something bad was going to happen from the description of the book, but what actually did happen was not what I expected, and I also never expected Tim to be the voice of reason for Sam.  I did however like how Ms. Fitzpatrick wrote our how Sam dealt with this and how it would affect her relationship with everyone in her life, especially Jase.

thend

I loved the ending of this book, it did not feel rushed on the author’s part or forced. It was a believe ending to a tragedy, with the outcome that benefited everyone involved. Mostly I was happy for the happy ending for Jase and Sam.  I have to say that this book makes me really excited for the companion book that comes out soon.

5star


otherbook

15832932 18392495

 

