24529123

Title: This is Where it Ends | Goodreads |
Author: Marieke Nijkamp| Goodreads | Website |
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: January 5, 2016
Format: Kindle | Amazon | Barnes & Nobles |

Received ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

 

thestory

This is Where it Ends is the story of a school shooting and the students whose lives it effects. It is told from four students points of views, and while I normally have some problems with a book with a lot of point of views, this one was actually interesting to have done it that way.  It gave the reader a chance to see how this event effected several types of people. It is a story of revenge and survival, of one person feeling as if everyone they know has turned against them, including their family and friends.
feelingsThis was one of those books that I was not sure I wanted to read. I was not 100% sure I wanted to read a story about a school shooting, especially with as many as this country has seen in the last few years. The book was relatable to anyone who had watched any of the news reports, or anyone who was at the schools when a shooting took place.

There were a few past events that were talked about in the book that to me were vague, and could have been explained better, but with so many points of view it may have been hard. All of the characters felt “real” relatable to me as a reader, but for the first time while reading a book that I actually finished; there was not really one character that I identified with. Not because I have never been through this event, but no one really stood out to me as the main person to have to see what happens to.

All in all, while it was a well written story, somewhat easy to follow, this book was not my cup of tea.

thend

 I have to say, that while this book was well written, by the end of the book the only thing I wanted to know was who survived. That may have been the only reason I finished reading it. I will say that by the end I was upset that some of the characters died, which I understand would happen, but it still did not make it any easier. This was definitely a book that was true to life.

3star

