letstalk

Hello my name is April and I read YA Books, in fact most of the books I read fall under this category, and I am not ashamed to admit that.

This was a topic that I had originally picked for the Summer Blogger Promo Tour, that was never used,  and I thought it would be awesome to use as my very first discussion post.  After going through the Goodreads List of the Best YA Books, I have found that I have read over 100 YA Books.  My older sisters has asked me several times why I am always reading books that fall into the Young Adult category, and my answer is always the same, I like a mix of genre’s, most of which fall into the YA category, such as contemporary, fantasy and dystopian. This does not mean that I don’t read NA or contemporary, it just means that most of the books that appeal to me are classified in the Young Adult arena.

I think that, at least for me, what draws people to the YA books is the fact that most of them are written in such a way that they can be read by anyone. They are books that bridge the gap between what is considered children’s books and what is considered ok for an adult to read.  Most YA books have become very popular to Adult readers because they allow for an escape that doesn’t always involve the typical things that adults go through, like marriage, divorce and job/money problems. The books we read now, the YA books especially, create new worlds that we may not have ever thought about when we were growing up.

I don’t know that I ever read a book about alternate universes in such the same way that they are written now. YA books are written to reach a specific age group, but contain material that interests adults and teens a like. I recently found this article which explains it much better than I can, but I will say that I appreciate any story that gives me the feeling of relating to the subject or allowing me to spend some time in a world that is so far from ours that it allows us to escape the situations our worlds face now.

Why are so many adults reading YA and teen fiction?

I will end by saying that I am not ashamed of the fact that I read YA Books, and I will continue to do so as long as the story interests me.

My Top Suggestions for YA Books that are great for Adults:

The Selection Series by Kierra Cass
The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth
The Orphan Queen by Jodie Meadows
The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
Any book by Sarah J. Maas

What about you? What draws you to read Young Adult books, and what are your favorite YA recommendations!

