22546577

 

Title:The Storyspinner (The Keepers’ Chronicles #1)l |Goodreads|
Author: Becky Wallace |GoodreadsWebsite |
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: March 3, 2015  |Purchase Amazon|
Format: Ebook
Source: Kindle

Synopsis:

Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne, magical warriors race to find the missing heir, and romance blossoms where it is least expected.

In a world where dukes plot their way to the throne, a Performer’s life can get tricky. And in Johanna Von Arlo’s case, it can be fatal. Expelled from her troupe after her father’s death, Johanna is forced to work for the handsome Lord Rafael DeSilva. Too bad they don’t get along. But while Johanna’s father’s death was deemed an accident, the Keepers aren’t so sure.

The Keepers, a race of people with magical abilities, are on a quest to find the princess—the same princess who is supposed to be dead and whose throne the dukes are fighting over. But they aren’t the only ones looking for her. And in the wake of their search, murdered girls keep turning up—girls who look exactly like the princess, and exactly like Johanna.

With dukes, Keepers, and a killer all after the princess, Johanna finds herself caught up in political machinations for the throne, threats on her life, and an unexpected romance that could change everything.

I read this book as the first of my 12 books for the Re-Read Challenge hosted by hosted by Belle of the Literati  Here is my review based on the questions provided for us:

WHEN I First Read 
March 2015

WHAT I Remember 

When I first read The Storyspinner, I was not sure what to expect from the story.  I remember thinking to myself that it was not going to live up to the hype from others in the blogging/book community, but I was present surprised by how much it did live up to it. I also remembered rooting for Rafi and Jo early on, and loving Dom. Some of the other characters I did not get to invested in, but enjoyed reading their thoughts as well.

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read 

Part of the reason I wanted to re-read the Storyspinner was because I got an eArc of The Skyligther and I wanted a chance to remember what happed in this book before reading the sequel. Though while I was reading it I remembered how much I enjoyed it the first time I read it, making it easier to get back into the story before reading the sequel.

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading

After I finished reading it this time I was just as enamored with it as I was the first time I read it. I loved seeing the relationship between Rafi and Jo grow again. I still love the fact that Jo is one very strong female MC and that she does not fall easily for Rafi’s charm and that there was no insta-love between them. I also loved that I picked up on a few things that I did not catch the first time I read it.

WOULD I Re-Read Again

ABSOLUTLY. I can definitely see myself reading this book again. It is an amazing story of a world that is easy to get lost in.

