Guest Post: Writing vs The Holiday Festivities

Introduction

Happy holidays everyone, and I hope you are enjoying the break.

I have decided to take a week’s respite from writing the third book in my YA urban fantasy series, Split Blood, to catch up with author interview and guest post requests. I am looking forward to discussing my thoughts and opinions on writing in the holidays and how I have managed to continue working on my latest book without getting completely lost in the eggnog and mince pies!

Timetable

I think I must be the biggest child because I love Christmas, and everything is put on hold for decorations, family time and overindulgence, which is why I try to get all of my writing tasks completed by Christmas Eve so that I can take a few days to enjoy the festivities.

I have a timetable on my study door with dates of deadlines for interviews, guest posts, blog posts, completing character personality profiles, chapters, etc., and I tick off each task as I complete them because, unfortunately, I have a short attention span, and unless I designate some time to working on these tasks and have something visual to remind me of what needs to be done, I will find something else to spend the time on.

Create realistic deadlines

When I first started writing The Orcus Games: Blood Moon, I thought I could write a chapter in a single night and tried very hard to do this, but when I read over the work it seemed rushed and I wasn’t happy with how the characters sounded, so I decided to rewrite it and was much happier with the end result.

I have a full-time job so creating realistic deadlines for my writing tasks is vital, and if I miss a deadline, even though it is frustrating, I have to make up for this another time and ensure that I come back with something that is worth waiting for, otherwise I feel disappointed with myself because I have such a passion for my writing.

Get creative and use the holidays as inspiration for your stories (characters, scenarios, etc.)

My family always laugh at me when we are together because I am always taking notes on my mobile phone’s notepad of scenarios that might arise during these gatherings that I think would be ideal for a book, or a family member invites a friend to the house and they have some interesting personality traits that I think would be ideal for a future character.

I try to relax and switch off when it comes to the holidays, but this never seems to happen because there is always something that will make me think about my writing.


about

Louise Herman is a North London Fantasy author obsessed with pear drops sweets and 80s Fantasy films.

In between reading James Herbert novels and drinking too much coffee, she writes Young Adult Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance novels.

Louise Herman has currently written five YA Fantasy books to date (December 2015); The Orcus Games Prequel Trilogy and The Split Blood series, which take the reader on a journey of magic, mystery, obsession and forbidden love with seductively dark consequences.

For more information, please go to: www.louisehermanauthor.com

My Website | Amazon.com | Smashwords | Amazon.co.uk | Wattpad | Twitter | Facebook

All Book Covers to Date

