25131078Title: The Distance from A to Z | Goodreads |
Author:  Natalie Blitt| Goodreads | Website |
Publisher: Epic Reads Impulse
Publication Date: January 12, 2016
Genre: Contemporary
Format: Kindle | Amazon | Barnes & Nobles |

This full-length novel by debut author Natalie Blitt is a pitch-perfect blend of Stephanie Perkins and Miranda Kenneally that proves the age-old adage: opposites attract.

Seventeen-year old Abby has only one goal for her summer: to make sure she is fluent in French—well, that, and to get as far away from baseball and her Cubs-obsessed family as possible. A summer of culture and language, with no sports in sight.

That turns out to be impossible, though, because her French partner is the exact kind of boy she was hoping to avoid. Eight weeks. 120 hours of class. 80 hours of conversation practice with someone who seems to exclusively wear baseball caps and jerseys.

But Zeke in French is a different person than Zeke in English. And Abby can’t help but fall for him, hard. As Abby begins to suspect that Zeke is hiding something, she has to decide if bridging the gap between the distance between who she is and who he is, is worth the risk.

thestoryThe Distance from A to Z is an amazing debut story about a girl trying to escape her baseball obsessed family by attending a summer French class. Abby meets Zeke on her first day and automatically puts him into the not the kind of guy she wants category when she sees him wearing a baseball T-Shirt. But, Abby cannot avoid Zeke, as the only high school students in their French class they are thrown together as partners and Abby soon realizes that French Zeke is totally different from non-French Zeke, and it may be harder to stop her feelings than she thought.

whatlike

Characters:

I absolutely loved the relationship between Abby and Zeke, and that no matter how hard Abby tried to fight it, Zeke got under her skin. I liked that even though time was an issue, as it was a summer program; their relationship did not feel rushed. Sure there were feelings immediately, but they were not really acted on. We got to see Zeke and Abby have a friendship brought on by them being French partners, and then watch as it turns into something more. Their path was not easy as Abby had a feeling that Zeke was hiding something from her, and the fallout was pretty much what I expected, but it was still a great love story between two people who had more in common than they thought.

I also loved the relationship between Abby and Alice. The fact that these two girls who are so opposite of each other could form an instant friendship made them seem as if they had really been friends forever. Alice was a great “side” character, but I felt she was important for Abby to have someone that maybe needed her in a way that her family did not.

I will say that there were times I was a little upset with Zeke, and I think that it had to do with how different English Zeke and French Zeke were around Abby and other people. However, the further I got into the book and realized a few things about Zeke, the more his actions made more sense, especially given Abby’s feelings on certain topics.

Setting:

I thought the setting of this story worked really well. Having the characters attending a summer program at a college was a great place to show them feeling a little independent and giving them a feeling of it being like having gone off to summer camp, with classes and structure thrown in. I also think it was a brilliant way to bring Abby and Zeke together by making them the only high schoolers in the French class, thus giving the professor a reason to put them together.

finalthoughts

I am the type of person that wants the Happily Ever After for pretty much every book that I read. I also tend to have a problem with books that to me just end, and while this book had a good ending, I was more upset than anything that it did end. I wanted more. I wanted to see what happens with Abby and Zeke as they both go back to their respective lives and finish High School. I wanted to see if Abby goes to France for college, what does Zeke end up doing, and even what happens with Alice. Basically I just wanted more, and deep down I’m silently praying for a sequel. LOL All and all Ms. Blitt did an amazing job telling us Abby and Zeke’s beginning, yep still holding out hope for more, and I’m super happy that I did not miss this amazing book. I HIGHLY recommend it to everyone.

5star

 

