febletstalk

So your to be read pile is growing and growing, there are a ton of new books coming out that you HAVE to read. How do you decide what to read next?

I have 983 books on my To Be Read shelf at Goodreads. That’s a lot of books to read and we all know that there aren’t enough hours in the day to get a chance to read all of them, heck I may never get to half of the books on my TBR, but I want to. But how do I figure out what to read next?

jennifer-dunno

I’ve seen so many thing around the blogging community about TBR Jars, polls on Twitter and even polls on your blog, and I’ve tried a couple, and they work, but I’m not sure that I want to run a poll every time I can’t decide what book to read next.  Picking my next read always seems to be a problem for me.

dlk

Every time I finish a book I’m always unsure what to read next,  sometimes it is because I am still reeling from what I’ve just read, and don’t want that feeling to end, or I just can’t decide what type of book to read.  With 983 books on my TBR shelf, you would think that I’d be able to pick up the next book easily, but most of the time I have no clue what I’m going to read.

 

A lot of the times I will check out what everyone else is reading to see if something catches my interest, and if not I scour my TBR list and Kindle to see what is available, hoping that something jumps out at me and screams READ ME NOW!  I also tend to go through my NetGalley books and see what I need to review and see if one of them jumps out at me.

mrlsprt

 

So basically when it comes to picking my next read, I’m starting to think I need to try the TBR Jar and see if that helps me, however, I can’t guarantee that I would actually stick with what I picked out of the jar. Especially when I tend to be a mood reader, and sometimes I am in the mood to read something that may not even be on my TBR list, and then of course we have new books coming out all the time. I don’t think I’ll ever come up with a great way to pick my next read.

afp

What about you? How do you come up with your next read?

 

