Reviews

Just a Minute: Book Reviews in a Minute

So I’ve been reading a lot of good books lately and have not reviewed half of them, so I thought I’d come up with a quick way to review them. So I decided to start Just a Minute, Book Reviews in a Minute, meaning I’m giving myself 1 minute to write a review for books that I probably will not write a full review for. This way I can show my love or disappointment, without feeling like I am repeating myself in a full length review. Hopefully this will help me review more of what I read. So here goes.


Title: What you Left Me | Goodreads |
Author:  Bridget Morrissey | Goodreads |
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: June 5, 2018

If I Stay meets While You Were Sleeping in this beautiful and heartbreaking novel told in dual perspectives about friendship, family, and all the other threads that bind us together.

Martin and Petra meet for the first time at graduation, and though they’ve shared the halls of their high school for four years without crossing paths, there’s an instant connection the moment they’re seated next to each other at the commencement ceremony.

Then a car accident puts Martin into a coma; and Petra is somehow left picking up the pieces, using friends, family, and shared dreams to keep their surprise connection going.

Together they must unlock the truth of his situation, and with time running out, their bond becomes Martin’s best shot at waking back up to the life he’s left behind.

I was a bit disappointed by this one. While it was a cute story of two strangers meeting at graduation, what followed left me a little sad and unfulfilled. The connection between Martin and Petra was cute, but it did not really go anywhere. I guess what really bothered me was the end. It ended in a way I did not see coming, though had a bit of a feeling it might happen. All in all a cute fast read, with a bit of heartbreak and new friendships in the mix.


Title:  Out in Left Field | Goodreads |
Author:  Kris Hui Lee  | Goodreads | Website |
Publisher: Sourcebook Fire
Publication Date: May 1, 2018

There’s no playing it safe in love or baseball in this sparkling debut, perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Kasie West.

Marnie has never had a hard time fitting in with the guys. It would take a lot more than their goofy antics to keep her from joining them at the neighborhood sandlot to do what she loves best: play ball.

An added perk of hanging out at the sandlot? Spending time with Cody Kinski, their high school’s star pitcher and Marnie’s best friend. Sure, he can be stubborn and annoying. He also knows how to make her laugh and respects her skills on the mound. And when he gets nailed in the arm by a bone-fracturing pitch, Marnie becomes the team’s best chance at making it to the playoffs. Except no one told the guys they’re supposed to be on her side.

With her own team against her, Marnie begins questioning her abilities. And when fate throws her a curveball, can she play without losing the game, Cody, and her belief in herself?

What a cute read. I really liked the dynamic between Marnie and Cody. The way they supported each other was great. I also like the idea of a girl pitching for a boys team. It was hard seeing her feeling not part of the team, by the boys that objected, but in the end Marnie did what she set out to do. Great story with a strong female lead, there was some heartbreak surrounding Marnie’s family and how it affects her friends, but all in all a book I’d read again.

 


Title: Kissing Max Holden | Goodreads |
Author:  Katy Upperman  | Goodreads |
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Publication Date: August 1, 2017

Kissing Max Holden was a terrible idea…

After his father has a life-altering stroke, Max Holden isn’t himself. As his long-time friend, Jillian Eldridge only wants to help him, but she doesn’t know how. When Max climbs through her window one night, Jill knows that she shouldn’t let him kiss her. But she can’t resist, and when they’re caught in the act by her dad, Jill swears it’ll never happen again. Because kissing Max Holden is a terrible idea.

With a new baby sibling on the way, her parents fighting all the time, and her dream of culinary school up in the air, Jill starts spending more and more time with Max. And even though her father disapproves and Max still has a girlfriend, not kissing Max is easier said than done. Will Jill follow her heart and allow their friendship to blossom into something more, or will she listen to her head and stop kissing Max Holden once and for all?

I’m not sure how I missed this in 2017, but I’m glad I picked it up this year. What a cute read. It has all the ingredients for a YA Contemporary Book. Teenagers, high school, stolen kisses and family drama.  Loved Jillian and the fact that she loved to bake, made her very relatable to me. I think that this is a great book that shows true life events that could happen to anyone. Will definitely read again.


So there you have it. My first foray into writing reviews in only a minute. I have to admit it’s a lot harder than you think, and I was sure that my stopwatch on my phone was going faster than it should.

Have you read these books? Could you review them in a minute only?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s